Student Research Competition

Important Dates (2018)
February 19
February 28
March 7
Abstract Submission Deadline
March 12 Notification
March 19
March 23
Camera-ready Papers
May 27-28 Conference


Continuing with the success of previous years, MOBILESoft will host an ACM Student Research Competition (ACM SRC) sponsored by Microsoft Research. The competition is an internationally recognized venue that enables undergraduate and graduate students to experience the research world, share their research results with other students and MOBILESoft attendees, and compete for prizes. The ACM SRC at MOBILESoft 2018 facilitates interaction with researchers and industry practitioners; providing both sides with the opportunity to learn of ongoing, current research in the area of mobile software. The ACM SRC at MOBILESoft 2018 consists of three parts: (1) research abstract submission, (2) poster presentation, and (3) research presentation. The winners of the competition will be invited to participate in the ACM SRC Grand Finals.



To participate in the competition, interested students should submit a two-page abstract (including all text, references and figures) using the ACM conference format template

( Submissions must be original research that is neither in submission nor already published. Submissions must be individual student research projects. The Student Research Competition is meant to be an opportunity for students to develop their skills as researchers and to give them an opportunity to showcase their work. One of the goals of the program is to focus on the student, their capabilities as a researcher, and their potential. Supervisors of the work should not be listed as co-authors; a student must submit a single-authored version for the competition. Submissions are reviewed by a panel of experts, and are evaluated based on the quality of the work, novelty of approach, significance of contribution, and clarity of written presentation.

Submission site:


Selection Process and Prizes

The first round of the competition will take place at the conference and will evaluate the research during a brief oral presentation. During the second round of the competition, participants will be evaluated based on presentation of their research posters during the SRC poster session. The judges will evaluate the research talks and poster presentations and select the top three winners in each category (undergraduate and graduate).

The top three winners receive prizes of US $500, US $300, and US $200, respectively. All winners also receive an award medal and a two-year complimentary ACM membership with a subscription to ACM’s Digital Library. Winners will be recognized during the conference. After the conference, the winners from each category will advance to the ACM SRC Grand Finals, where all SIG conference contest winners are evaluated.

Students whose submissions are accepted to participate in the competition are entitled to a stipend for their travel expenses, up to a maximum of US $500. Students can enter ICSE and MOBILESoft SRCs, but may not be funded for both SRCs.


Competition Requirements

Participants must be undergraduate or graduate students pursuing an academic degree at the time of initial submission. Research completed while the student was an undergraduate may be submitted to the undergraduate category even if the student is now a first-year graduate student. Participants must be current members of the ACM and provide their ACM member number.


Additional Information

For additional information, clarification, or answers to questions please contact the ACM SRC Chairs Jamie Payton and Mirco Franzago at


Program Committee Members

PC Member name Affiliation, Country
Arno Puder San Francisco State University
Myoungkyu Song University of Nebraska at Omaha
Dario Di Nucci Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Marco Autili Università dell’Aquila (Italy)
Eric Umuhoza Politecnico di Milano
Fabio Palomba University of Zurich
Pietro Manzoni Universitat Politècnica de València
Emad Shihab Concordia University
Carmine Gravino University of Salerno
Collin McMillan University of Notre Dame
Juri Di Rocco Università dell’Aquila (Italy)












Sponsored by