Technical Papers

Important Dates (2018)
January 21, 24:00 AoE Paper Submission Deadline
January 15, 24:00 AoE Papers submission deadline
Abstract Submission Deadline
February 19 Notification
March 19
March 23


The technical papers track will focus on significant, novel and emerging solutions for mobile application software engineering. These should be well-motivated, carefully compared, and contrasted with significant related research. Papers should include methodology, implementation, results, and discussion as appropriate. Solutions are expected to be rigorously evaluated.

Areas of contribution may include technological advancements, architectural approaches, advancements in design and implementation methods, testing approaches, user interfaces and HCI, business and organizational issues, and empirical studies. We solicit contributions of full papers (up to 10 pages, with up to 2 additional pages only for references), and short papers (up to 4 pages, with 1 additional page only for references). Full papers are expected to make a significant new research or practice contribution. Short papers are expected to present an interesting, well-developed contribution of more modest proportions. Papers must not have been previously published or be under consideration elsewhere for publication. We solicit contributions from both academia and industry.

Formatting and Submission Instructions

All submissions must conform to the ACM formatting and submission instructions and must not exceed 10 pages for the main text, inclusive of figures, tables, appendices, etc. Two more pages containing only references are permitted. All submissions must be in PDF. The page limit is strict, and it will not be possible to purchase additional pages at any point in the process (including after the paper is accepted).

For MS Word users: Use the ACM_SigConf.docx template following the instructions from the NEW ACM formatting guidelines (

For LaTex users: Use the NEW ACM formatting guidelines ( Upon unzipping the zip file, run ‘make all’. This will produce the acmart.cls file. You should use the conference format described in sample-sigconf.tex to format your paper. You are recommended to use the ‘review’ option (\documentclass[sigconf,review]{acmart}) which will add line numbers, thereby allowing referees to refer to specific lines in their comments, but we do not enforce the use of the ‘review’ option (that is, we will not desk reject papers for failing to use this option).

Accepted papers will be published in the conference electronic proceedings and in both the ACM Digital Library and IEEE Digital Library.

Submit via Easy Chair (both short and long papers):


At least one author of an accepted contribution is required to register, present the work, and participate during the discussions at the forum. Accepted papers will be published in the conference electronic proceedings and in both the ACM Digital Library and IEEE Digital Library.

PC co-chairs: Grace A. Lewis and Itai Segall

Additional Information

For additional information, clarification, or answers to questions please contact the Program Committee Co-chairs (Grace A. Lewis and Itai Segall) at

Program Committee Members

PC Member name Affiliation, Country
Mohamed Abdelrazek Deakin University, Australia
Marco Autili University of L’aquila, Italy
Matthias Book University of Iceland, Iceland
Marco Brambilla Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Tiziana Catarci Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Paolina Centonze Iona College
Schahram Dustdar TU Wien
Yishai A. Feldman IBM Research – Haifa
Lori Flynn CERT, USA
Stephan Krusche Technische Universität München, Germany
Yves Le Traon University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Ivano Malavolta Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands
Sam Malek University of California – Irvine, USA
Henry Muccini University of L’Aquila, Italy
Angela Nicoara Intel Labs, USA
Sethu Ramesh General Motors R&D, USA
Abhik Roychoudhary National University of Singapore, Singapore
Antonino Sabetta SAP Labs, France
Norsaremah Salleh International Islamic University Malaysia, Malaysia
Lionel Seinturier University Lille 1 – Inria, France
Emad Shihab Concordia University, Canada
Alberto Sillitti Innopolis University, Russia
Wolfgang Slany Graz University of Technology, Austria
Alin Stefanescu University of Bucharest, Romania
Weibin Sun Google, USA
Antero Taivalsaari Nokia Research Center, Finland
Shingo Takada Keio University, Japan
Shmuel Tyszberowicz The Academic College of Tel-Aviv Yaffo, Israel
Komminist Weldermariam IBM Africa, Kenya
Abram Hindle University of Alberta, Canada
Borje Karlsson Microsoft Research Asia, China
Federica Sarro University College London, UK